Introducing: Aja Hannah, author of Zarconian Island

Last weekend, I had the pleasure of getting together with one of my dear friends, Aja Hannah. A recently published author, Hannah will release her first novel, Zarconian Island, to retailers everywhere March 25–just in time for me to buy myself a copy for my birthday πŸ™‚ While at lunch, we played catch up and chatted a little about her new novel.

Before I dive too deep into our Q&A session, check out the synopsis of this amazing novel:

My stomach knotted tighter, winding so hard it hurt.
ImageKate watched me, rubbing a piece of her hair between two fingers.
I bit my tongue, trying to work the words out.
“The boat …we’re going under.”

Possessing powers that are feared and shunned, eighteen-year-old Alexandra β€œAttie” Hotep is no virgin to attacks. Her ancestors, the Zarconians– mixed-blood inhabitants of Atlantis–were rumored to be the English fairies who kidnapped children, the Caribbean sirens that sunk ships, and the dream-like apparitions who broke into psyches. By the 1850s, they were hunted to near-extinction, leaving the existence of Atlantis and Zarconians little more than myth.

When a class trip turns deadly, Attie and her friends become stranded on an uncharted tropical island in the middle of the Pacific, and Attie finds herself targeted once more. With a jungle full of extinct and prowling animals, she struggles to find a compromise between keeping her friends safe and keeping her family’s secret.

Enter Doug Hutchinsonβ€”the school’s soccer star, and a handsome boy with his own secrets. But Attie and Doug soon realize the animals aren’t the only threat. There is a traitor amidst the group, one that plans to turn all Zarconians into permanent myths. And Attie is next on the list.

And now for the Q&A with Miss Hannah:

Did you base your main character Attie, on anyone in particular in your life?
I did not base Attie on anyone in particular, but I did base Attie’s best friend Kate on a girl I was close with in my childhood. They are both blonde, preppy, and unwaveringly loyal. I changed her name obviously and, over the course of writing the novel, Kate has gained her own personality. She’s gained her own goals and manner of speaking.
Given the excerpt in the synopsis, readers are led to believe the story is told from the first-person perspective of Attie.
Was it challenging to limit yourself to writing only from Attie’s perspective?
It wasn’t too hard to limit myself, but it was hard to find ways to get information to Attie without something too obvious or what’s called “information dumping.” When writing in first person, the reader only knows what the main character knows (or believes to be true) so my beta readers would come to me with questions. I would have to decide whether or not the information was necessary to include and then how to add it in.
Out of all literature genres, what in particular draws you to young adult? Do you forsee releasing novels in any other genres?
I am drawn to young adult writing, I think, because I am still a young adult. I love adventure and sometimes making snap decisions. I don’t quite have all adult responsibilities. Also, the young adult genre has more flexibility when it comes to magic, other worlds, and young love without repercussion.
We all want to know, what’s next for Aja Hannah?
Well, I hope to have the sequel published soon! I am moving in a month to Hawaii to work as a librarian, and I’m looking for new adventure and inspiration there.

Well there you have it folks–if you haven’t already reserved your copy of Zarconian Island, get on it already! Stay tuned for my review of what I’m sure is to be a fantastic read.

One response to “Introducing: Aja Hannah, author of Zarconian Island

  1. Pingback: Schedule for Zarconian Island Blog Tour ~ Aja Hannah

Leave a Reply

