Entering 2013 with a running start

Back in October, my mom convinced me to join Weight Watchers. To me, this was an epic insult. I was struggling with a slow weight gain–I gained about 20 pounds in about 3 years. That’s not too bad, I’d tell myself, but there came a point where I was growing more and more uncomfortable in my skin.

Mom recognized this and rather forcibly  encouraged me to join Weight Watchers. “I’ll pay for the first three months,” she said in an effort to convince me. Like most people struggling with their weight, I thought I could do it alone, that I was above using a program like Jenny Craig or Weight Watchers.

I couldn’t have been more wrong.

Since October, I have said goodbye to over 15 pounds. I’m more confident, happier, healthier and most importantly, I’ve found a new lease on life. Weight Watchers isn’t a diet, it’s a lifestyle change, and when you embrace it, you can’t help but do well.

Sure there are times when you have a bad week–gaining is to be expected; however, I can honestly say that this “struggle” to lose weight has been more of a stroll through the park since I joined Weight Watchers.

So, with the first week of 2013 over, I’m happy to say I’m hitting the ground running with my new lease on life–I’m not creating a New Year’s resolution to lose weight, because I’ve already done that. Rather, I’m just continuing what I’ve already been doing.

15 pounds down, 15 to go 🙂

Leave a Reply

